American Academy of Optometry Announces 2020 Award Recipients

Each year the American Academy of Optometry recognizes distinguished individuals who have made countless important contributions to advancing the profession of optometry.

“In our virtual world, it is more important than ever to honor our exceptional colleagues and celebrate their successes. They give us hope and help shine a light on our entire profession,” remarked John G. Flanagan, Ph.D., FCOptom, FAAO, Awards Committee Chair.

The Academy is pleased to announce the 2020 award recipients:


Karla Zadnik, OD, PhD, FAAO
Charles F. Prentice Medal and Lecture Award

Donald T. Miller, PhD
Glenn A. Fry Award and Lecture
(American Academy of Optometry Foundation Award)

Abraham Bromberg, OD, MS, FAAO
AAO-Essilor Award for Outstanding
International Contributions to Optometry

Roanne E. Flom, OD, FAAO
William Feinbloom Award

Greg Pearl, OD
Brien Holden Humanitarian Award

Zhichao Wu, BAppSc(Optom), PhD
Irvin M. and Beatrice Borish Award

Raymond A. Applegate, OD, PhD, FAAO
Carel C. Koch Memorial Medal Award

Sarah Wilting
Julius F. Neumueller Award in Optics
(American Academy of Optometry Foundation Award)

Gay Tokumaru, OD, FAAO
Vincent Ellerbrock Clinician Educator Award

Jun-Kang Si, MD; Kai Tang, MD; Hong-Sheng Bi, MD; Da-Dong Guo, PhD; Jun-Guo Guo, MD; Xing-Rong Wang, MD
Garland W. Clay Award

Clifford W. Brooks, Jr., OD, FAAO
Michael G. Harris Family Award for Excellence in Optometric Education
(American Academy of Optometry Foundation Award)

Brett G. Bence, OD, FAAO
Eminent Service Award

Awards of the Section on Cornea, Contact Lenses & Refractive Technologies

Jeffrey J. Walline, OD, PhD, FAAO
Max Schapero Memorial Lecture Award

Michael G. Harris, OD, JD, FAAO
Founders’ Award

Awards of the Public Health and Environmental Vision Section

Gregory W. Good, OD, PhD, FAAO
Henry B. Peters Award for Public Health and Environmental Vision
(American Academy of Optometry Foundation Award)

The Prentice and Fry Lectures will be broadcast live on Thursday, October 8, 7:00 to 8:00 PM EST. Due to this year’s virtual meeting, the awards will be physically presented to awardees next year at Academy 2021 Boston.

The Section Awards ceremonies will be broadcast pre-recorded this year during Academy 2020 At Home. More information for these two ceremonies will be forthcoming.

About the American Academy of Optometry
The American Academy of Optometry (AAO) inspires excellence in optometric practice by fostering research and disseminating knowledge in vision science through its journal, Optometry and Vision Science, and the continuing education presented at its annual meeting. Fellows of the Academy are committed to the premise that learning is a lifelong obligation of a professional, as is the commitment to expand the profession’s knowledge base through ongoing fellowship and exchange. For more information, visit the website:

TC Charton Eyewear - Made To Fit