American Academy of Optometry Foundation Announces Recipients of the 2021 Johnson & Johnson Vision Award of Excellence


The American Academy of Optometry Foundation (AAOF) is pleased to announce the 2021 Johnson & Johnson Vision Award of Excellence in Contact Lens Patient Care Grant recipients. This award recognizes outstanding fourth-year student clinicians who have demonstrated skillful knowledge of the contact lens field. Each winner will receive a $500 educational award and a personalized plaque commemorating their accomplishment.

2021 Recipients and Institutions Attended:

–           Megan Sales, Chicago College of Optometry

–           William Skoog, Illinois College of Optometry

–           Taylor Spangle, Indiana University, School of Optometry

–           Armando Lugo, Inter American University of Puerto Rico, School of Optometry

–           Wiley Walls, Massachusetts College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences, School of Optometry

–           Kaitlyn Arnold, Michigan College of Optometry at Ferris State University

–           Eric Yoshinaga, Midwestern University Arizona, College of Optometry

–           Airi Ando, New England College of Optometry

–           Karli Weise, Northeastern State University Oklahoma College of Optometry

–           Lara Bregman, Nova Southeastern University, College of Optometry

–           Emily Weakland, The Ohio State University, College of Optometry

–           Anjali Rupela, Pacific University, College of Optometry

–           Kevin Feng, Pennsylvania College of Optometry at Salus University

–           Marisol Lauri, Southern California College of Optometry at Marshall B. Ketchum University

–           Jesse Boles, Southern College of Optometry

–           Holly Knoechel, State University of New York, College of Optometry

–           Dana Shannon, University of Alabama at Birmingham, School of Optometry

–           Shazib Haq, University of California Berkeley, School of Optometry

–           Isabel Deakins, University of Houston, College of Optometry

–           Bradley Cary, University of Missouri – St. Louis, College of Optometry

–           Ana Maria Sochirca, University of Montreal, School of Optometry

–           Cassidy Coleman, University of Pikeville, Kentucky College of Optometry

–           Elizabeth Trujillo, University of the Incarnate Word, Rosenberg School of Optometry

–           Christina Chen, University of Waterloo, School of Optometry and Vision Science

–           Alice Chalongwongse, Western University of Health Sciences, College of Optometry


The American Academy of Optometry Foundation is thankful for the professional relationship between the Foundation and Johnson & Johnson Vision. Johnson & Johnson’s outstanding support to raise the bar of optometric education is a reminder of their ongoing commitment to the industry’s high standards.

For more information, visit

About the American Academy of Optometry

The American Academy of Optometry (AAO) inspires excellence in optometric practice by fostering research and disseminating knowledge in vision science through its journal, Optometry and Vision Science, and the continuing education presented at its annual meeting. Fellows of the Academy are committed to the premise that learning is a lifelong obligation of a professional, as is the commitment to expand the profession’s knowledge base through ongoing fellowship and exchange. For more information, visit the website:

About the American Academy of Optometry Foundation The American Academy of Optometry Foundation (AAOF) is the 501(c)(3) philanthropic arm of the American Academy of Optometry (AAO) and was founded in 1947 for the “upholding, broadening, fostering, promoting and aiding of optometric education; the profession of optometry and its practitioners.” The organization provides financial support for optometric research and vision and eye health education to improve patient clinical care. For more information, visit the website:

Erkers 1879 Eyewear - The Optical Journal